Skip To Menu | Skip To Content

County Profile

Sheboygan County Economic Profile | Rural (Townships) Zoning Map

Sheboygan County is located in east-central Wisconsin, between the Lake Michigan shoreline and the rolling glacial terrain of the Kettle Moraine State Forest. Sheboygan County is located approximately 55 miles north of Milwaukee and 60 miles south of Green Bay, along Interstate 43.  Neighboring counties include: Manitowoc, Calumet, Fond du Lac, Washington, and Ozaukee.

Sheboygan County was originally established in 1838. Over the course of time, Sheboygan County grew and prospered as immigrants from Germany, the Netherlands, and Ireland established homes, farms, and businesses. Manufacturing and a strong work ethic remain the backbone of Sheboygan County’s economy today.

Twenty-eight municipalities are located in Sheboygan County – 3 cities, 10 villages, and 15 towns. For more information on area communities review the municipal profiles.